mysql_fetch_object mystery (php5)

jwopitz

Hi, folks.

I am rather new to PHP. I am creating an application where I am using AMFPHP, Flex and MySQL.  On one of my php methods I am trying to return a value object or a mysql query.

return mysql_fetch_object($result);

This returns a simple object with the properties of the object set to that data retrieved in the database (as expected). However I want to be able to do this:

return mysql_fetch_object($result, "UserVO"); 

When doing so it returns the expected object type (a UserVO), however it returns the values of the UserVO to their initialized values which are various strings. It is not setting the values of the properties to that which are found in the database.

Here is my UserVO php class:

<?php
class UserVO
{
    var $_explicitType = "UserVO";

var $id = 0;
    var $userName = 'userName';
    var $password = 'password';
}
?>

What am I missing here? Again I am a complete PHP noob.

mysql_fetch_object — Fetches a result row as an object. It does not fetch an object.

A php object has no meaning to a database. To store a php object in a database you would need to serialize the object before inserting it into a database and unserialize it after it is retrieved from the database.

mysql_fetch_object — Fetches a result row as an object. It does not fetch an object.

But it can fetch an object of a certain type if specified.

I think your actual problem is the fact that you are overiding the properties which would be set by the result from your query. Leave the properties out of the class definition all together and you should be fine.

I have a fuzzy understanding of what you are saying Thorpe.  I mod'd the function again so that it would 'cast' the fetched object to a UserVO like so:

return mysql_fetch_object($result, "UserVO");

...and I tried leaving the props out of the UserVO class like so:

<?php
class UserVO
{
var $_explicitType = "UserVO";

/*var $id = 0;
var $userName = '';
var $password = '';*/
}
?>