Simple Session Question

websponge

Im pretty new to PHP, but have managed to create a login system for a small site, my question relates to why Im entering a certain piece of code, I understand the code apart from the getting the information from a form and assigning it to a variable,

I have a username form with one submit button, (username) which goes to a script called register.php

I have this in my php:

<?php
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED); 
$username=$_POST['username'];
session_register("username");
header("location:index2.php");
?>

then in my index2.php page i have this:

<?php
session_start();
$username= $_SESSION['username'];
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>My Page</title>
</head>
<body>
<p>
Hi 
<?php
echo  $username; 
?>

</p>
</body>
</html>

Ive simplified what ive done here,why am I declaring a variabel to get the form contents? cant I just get the contents? and then register? I dont need a variable..

If I remove the line, it doesnt work obviously..

thanks

Get your form to submit to register.php (like you do) then you should be able to access the username just by using $_POST['username'] if the method for the form is post, and $_GET['username'] if it is set to get. You could do the processing (in this case echoing) on that file, or get your form to submit straight to index2.php and have switch to check if the form was submitted, and if so then do the processing there. There is no real need to set the variable as a session and redirect to a new page.

The above code never sets $_SESSION['username'] anywhere, just registers the "username" session

Thats what I dont understand, I never ask to use that variable again, I have to declare a new one in index2.php

with this line:

$username= $_SESSION['username'];