Need help with a special script

nituvious

Hi guys, I am writing a "login" script  that will be on my main page(I have it inside of <head></head> tags). I want it to take a user name and password, store it in a variable that is persistant with all pages on my website. Is that possible? How can I make a variable that will carry over to a page that doesn't have the original code? E,g, $Login = "alogin"; then when my client goes to a different page $Login still == "alogin"?

I hope this is understandable.

I am not writing a very advanced script, I just want the input form to store the users login name/password so he or she may access a section of the site that has more options available if they're logged in.

Here are my scripts. I have Login.php inside of my index.php, it contains Login.php inside of <head></head> tags. I know my php code looks awful and is probably done entirely wrong, but I am new to php and just did this to learn it. I also thought it would be neat to have a login that displayed extra options on pages so I decided to try my hand at this.

Login.php

<?php
$Username = "test1";
$Password = "test2";
$Login = $_POST['login'];
$Pass = $_POST['password'];
if ($Login != $Username && $Pass != $Password) {
?>
<!-- Login page goes here -->
<form method="post" action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']; ?>">
	<input type="text" value="login" name="login" class="login"/>
	<input type="password" value="password" name="password" class="password"/>
	<input type="submit" value=" " name="submit" class="submit"/>
</form>
<?PHP
}
else {
?>
	<!-- Redirect to a page to set cookies, but I don't have any way to get $Login and $Pass to this page.. -->
	<script type="text/javascript">
		window.location = "scripts/logging_in.php"
	</script>
<?PHP
}
?>

Logging_In.php

<?php 
setcookie("login",$Login,time()+7200);
setcookie("password",$Password,time()+7200);
?>
<script type="text/javascript">
window.location = "http://MyPage.com/"
</script>

Some of Index.php

<head>
		<?php