Graphic or programming redesign. Which first?

Gutspiller

I am at a crossroads. I want to have our website both redesigned graphically as well as need the backend code recoded, retooled, updated, tweaked, etc.

I am not a programmer, but I can make decent graphics myself. However, with that said, the graphical redesign I want to give my site, would still involve coding to move objects around, something of which I am not capable of. The decision I face is which to do first?

Do I do a graphical redesign first, so that the graphics and layout are already there so that when I want my programmer to add features, they are adding them where they are going to stay.

Or do I do a code redesign, tweak where I am adding new features to existing code, and have code that is old rewritten for better function, but put it in spots that may not look as good or as pleasing to the eye, until the graphical design comes?

Which is better as far as user experience?

Which is going to be cheaper and more cost effective?

On the one hand, if I do a graphical redesign first, then things should be in place for where I want new features to end up, and the site looks good, even if it lacks features and may feature open spots where somethings aren't appearing, simply because they haven't been coded yet. Also, I can tell the programmer right where I want the feature they're coding to appear, and once it's inserted, it's where it's going to stay.

On the other hand, if I have the coding done first, then as the features are coded, I can have them put in approximate places where I want them, and the features will be coded, but may need to be moved later on to make it more appealing, or be made more visible by being moved. BUT, if the features are already coded, I will know what types of pages I need to have designed, and what all I need to have pages for.