PHP Coding Issue - Mayhaps

Wylderose

Hello, there I'm new at the PHP/MySql matter and so the code I'm going to bring up that I'm having trouble with was written by someone else for me a number of years ago.  It worked just fine until recently and I'm not sure why it just up and stopped working.  Nothing has changed, the database that this code is connected to is still very much the same. 

The problem I am having is trying to login via the Login name and Password.  As I said before this code worked just fine up to a few days ago and the person that wrote this out for me has long since disappeared into the ether and I would really love to get this back up and working again, I just don't know where to begin. 

Now the problem, once from the login it gets me far enough to the "Login Success. Forwarding to tools..." that takes all who have access to tools to this next stage and that's when the trouble hit, with the information in and it sits and then come back "No password provided"  so its basically not gettting the information from the database itself.  Or something.  So yes, if someone see something small, or an update in code or something, would be great.  Otherwise... just have to give up on this.  Be my luck the other PHP code that I have for the other various things - I run an online Roleplaying site requires people to submit character sheets, then to be able to view sheets, edit certain part of the sheets and this particular project is for the Storytellers to update those sheets - has decided to say um, I'm done working now.  ::)

My webprovider offers the following if this is needed information wise:

MySQL version 5.0.90-community

PHP version 5.2.13

Thanks much for taking the moment to look this over, I'll try to provide as much detail I can if anyone post any further inquiry on this odd problem of mines.

<?PHP
if( !isset($pass) ){ die("No password provided"); }
if( $pass == "" ){ die("No password provided"); }