simple search tutorial, results in a table?

nearenough

im a complete novice.

im using one of the tutorials on here to make a simple search form. the bit of script that i think outputs the results is

$results = array(); // the result array

$i = 1;

while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($searchResult)) {

$results[] = "{$i}: {$row['placing']}, &nbsp  {$row['racedate']}, &nbsp  {$row['horseid']}<br /><br />";

$i++;

how do i make these results appear in a table, and how would i make it so there was a link on the date that clicked would show all the races on that day?

sorry i advance as this is probably the most dumb of questions!

You can use standard HTML techniques to do what you desire. The table part is easy, but I'm not sure how your site is set up so it's a bit hard for me to say exactly what your link needs to look like but here's my modification to your code to get you started:

$i = 1;
echo '<table border="1"><tr><th>Num</th><th>Placing</th><th>Race Date</th><th>Horse ID</th></tr>';
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($searchResult)) 
{
   echo "<tr><td>$i</td>
                    <td>{$row['placing']}</td>
                    <td><a href=\"viewrace.php?date={$row['racedate']}\">{$row['racedate']}</a></td>
                    <td>{$row['horseid']}</td></tr>";
   $i++;
}
echo '</table>';

That should display your results in a table. Modify it to look how you want. As it is now, if the user clicks on the race date it will take them to a "viewrace.php" page with the date passed in as a $_GET variable so that page could take that date and query for races on that date. Obviously since I don't know your site structure you'll have to adjust that, I'm just showing how it could work.

thats excellent, thank you very much. ive been faffing about for a week trying to learn php and databases and all that. last week i knew nothing about them, now i know how to use a mysql database and link it to webpages and have a flimsy grasp of very basic php.