Form Data Not Appearing in MySQL Database

Skelly123

Hi there everyone,

I'm a first time poster, and I'm here because I'm, well, desperate.  I'm just learning MySQL and PhP - I'm doing it online through tutorials, though I'd rather learn it in a classroom.  What I am trying to do is send form data from a basic html form to a MySQL database.  Super simple (so I thought), but what is happening is that when I fill out the form and hit "Submit" button, the echo text appears saying "1 record added," but then then when I go to check the database using phpmyadmin, the info I entered into the text boxes on the form does not appear there.  I set up a id field with an automated integer as a primary key to see if I could track whether communication was really coming into the database from the form, and sure enough, each time I hit "submit" on the form, a new row is created in the database with the next chronological number - but all fields afterward are blank.

Here is my code I am using:

Form Code

<form action="form-data.php" method=”post”>

<p><label>Enter full name: </label><input type=”text” name=”fullname” size="30" /></p>

<p><label>Sex: </label><input type=”text” name=”sex” size="10" /></p>

<p><label>Choose an Option: </label><select name="dropdown">

<option selected="selected"></option>

<option value="lame">Lame</option>

<option value="garbage">Garbage</option>

<option value="stupid">Stupid</option>

</select></p>

<input type="submit" value="Click!"> 

</form>

And the php:

<?php

$con = mysql_connect("xxxx.db.xxxx.hostedresource.com","database_name","password");

if (!$con)

{

die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());

}

mysql_select_db("database_name", $con);

$sql="INSERT INTO database_name.table1 (fullname, sex, dropdown)

VALUES ('$_POST[fullname]','$_POST[sex]','$_POST[dropdown]')";

if (!mysql_query($sql,$con))

{

die('Error: ' . mysql_error());

}

echo "1 record added";

mysql_close($con)

?>