Allowing some HTML in submitted content

Andy17

Hey guys,

OK, so actually I have two questions that are kind of related. The first one is how I can allow users to use <i>, <b>, <strong> tags when submitting information in a form. I would like to allow certain tags so they can emphasize things in their text, but I still want to strip the rest for security reasons. I tried using strip_tags() with some exceptions as a second parameter, but as far as I understand, that just allows them to be displayed as text, not for the browser to make text bold for instance. Below is what I have now.

function stripdata($data) {
return trim(htmlentities(stripslashes($data), ENT_QUOTES));
}

echo stripdata($someDataFromMySQL);

I also want to ask if the solution above is 100% safe so that users can not submit malicious code that can execute when users' visit a page of mine that displays that code.

Thank you in advance. :)

I am still a newbie but this sounds rather similar to a bad/good-word filter. or atleast bb-code

I think if you would make a save array with stuff like <b> </b> and get the rest out that should do the trick. Atleast thats what my brains are telling me. I also found a document ones on google with regex that was used to do this. maybe have a go there.

dont let them use html-tags, but let them use bb-tags instead (like within this forum)

so make your users know that they should use

[b] and [/b], [u] and [/u] etc.. 

after getting the information in, use htmlspecialchars to remove all html-entries and make the code save:

$data= htmlspecialchars(trim($_POST['data']));

store it and after that, just before placing the data, replace all the bb-tags with html again with str_replace:

$data= str_replace("[b]", "<b>", $data);
$data= str_replace("[/b]", "</b>", $data);
$data= str_replace("[u]", "<u>", $data);
$data= str_replace("[/u]", "</u>", $data);
etc..

and after that, you can place the data :)

echo $data;