Pages protected with a string.

manuzuzu

Hello all,

Sorry to bother you with my ignorant questions. I am a noob PHP-er and will probably never be good in this. I am trying to accomplish something and I hope you all can point me in the good direction of designing it myself or to a free open source script that I can edit.

How I explain it may seem very strange as I do not know all the technical words so feel free to ask me what I mean.

There should be two parts of my site:

- mydomain.com/

and

- mydomain.com/newfolder

MYDOMAIN.COM/

This part of the site basically has 1 page (mydomain.com/index.php).

This scripting on this page has to be working together with a MySQL database (another thing I do not know much about). On entering the script has to make a random string (say: fjh9Yj098xT). This string has to be entered as a record in the database, along with a time stamp an validity (lets say by example 4 hours or 14,400 seconds).

After this it has to redirect you to mydomain.com/newfolder with a special URL.

MYDOMAIN.COM/NEWFOLDER

This is where the main part of the website is held and it will probably have around 200 pages.

To make clear what page you will go to the URL will look something like “index.php?page=1”, although typing that URL into the address bar will not work. It has has to be combined with the string that was created on mydomain.com/index.php.

If the landing page is page 1 you will land on mydomain.com it will route you to “mydomain.com/newfolder/index.php?page=1&string=fjh9Yj098xT”. On entering the page has to check in the database if that string is existing and of course still valid (as we put on a time limit of  4 hours or 14,400 seconds).