general question - search/subsearch/temporary tables

turpentyne

Bear with me, as I'm still quite new at PHP.

I'm trying to figure out the best way to build a search function for a database that will eventually be quite large.

The path of the search I'm building is to go from a straight-forward javascript and html search page, to a paginated search result. Then the user can narrow down those query results based on a new search of their results.

In trying to get the pagination to work across several pages(unsuccessfuly, I might add), I've been learning about sessions and temporary tables. But, because the database will be very large, I'm wondering if they are the wrong way. Sessions have a time limit, and temporary tables delete once the connection is closed.

Is it possible/feasible to build a permanent table that puts in the search variables, with a unique id and use this to manage the searches, pagination and all that? Then, at some point in the process, I can put code to delete the corresponding row (or even make it a saveable search). Maybe somebody sees where I'm going with this and  can describe it better than me? I'm just thinking off the cuff at the moment. Maybe there's some terminology that will help me find a tutorial. Any bit helps.

thanks!

How complex will you allow these searches to be? Could they potentially involve JOINs, GROUP BYs, and/or HAVING clauses? If so, then you really might need to create an actual persistent table. I had to do this for a project once. I don't know if our solution was really the best, but it worked for our needs, so I'll share it with you.