New to PHP a few questions plase

extremeshannon

Hello everyone,

I am a hobbyist with programming. I have been playing with Php, sql, html for several years. I am building a program to organize my club. I am starting out fairly simple and hope in a year for it to be powerful. If anyone can point in the right direction to find out how I can do several things I can get my first version done this week maybe. Here are the things I am trying to accomplish.

1.) a page that I can view records with a First record, previous Record, next Record, last record buttons. The page will pull the information from a table or tables out of my mysql database. I would like to have an update button so I can update records as I go through them and to be able to search buy typing in first name or last name. I know there are functions that will help me and I have been trying to figure out what classes on php.net

2.) Last question for now. All my pages that deal with mysql I have included all the connection information. I was thinking about making a class and add using a class on the pages to open the connection. Not sure if this would be easy, or the best way.

Thanks in advance. I am new and I am not looking for the exact code just place to start. I really want to learn php and sql to be able to build my own applications and fix them.

1.) a page that I can view records with a First record, previous Record, next Record, last record buttons.

You'll want to look for some pagination tutorials, such as this one:

http://www.phpfreaks.com/tutorial/basic-pagination

I would like to have an update button so I can update records as I go through them and to be able to search buy typing in first name or last name. I know there are functions that will help me and I have been trying to figure out what classes on php.net