absolute noob question

TEDSON

I'm really sorry if this has been answered (I assume it has) I'm unfamiliar with search terms of what I am trying to do.

I have this web page

<html>
<body>

<?php
$con = mysql_connect("localhost","user","pass");
if (!$con)
  {
  echo "Fail";
  die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
  }

echo "Triumph";
?> 

</body>
</html>

Which I got from a snippet. I load the webpage expecting to see fail or triumph, but I see nothing.

My question is how to run the php script so I see something on the page (hopefully triumph.

I apoligise for my noobness, I'm a PHP know nothing at the moment.

Sorry, seems I'm out of time to edit my post.

I've found that the page has to have a .php extension, rather than .htm

I changed it and I get what I expected..

"FailCould not connect: Access denied for user 'user'@'localhost' (using password: YES)"

My username and password are correct.

I notice in the snippet code, it dosent aske the database name, could this be the problem? if so how do I define it?

so, you've set a variable $con to be mysql_connect, but you never actually tell it to connect.

What? What do you think mysql_connect() is for?

@TEDSON

As amplexus was showing, selecting the database is done after the connection. The problem must be with the host, username or password. Is MySQL definitely running?

I'm unsure how to tell if its definately running

in cpanel

PHP: 5.2.14

MySQL: 5.0.91-community-log

I can create databases and add tables, so I am assuming that it is running.

I could be wrong though, its been known, I get the feeling I'm making some kind of schoolboy error.

EDIT:

I noticed there was no user associated with my db after manually creating it, so used the wizard, and the user was added, I temp gave user all access.

Although as you pointed out I'm not even connecting to Mysql never mind database.

Thank you so much for your help and time, I really appreciate it.