How would I combine these two scripts?

Lyco

I know this involves MySQL, but it's mostly PHP, so I figured it should go here, forgive me if I posted in the wrong section, though.

Anyway! Let's get down to it. I'd like to combine these two scripts (below). I want the questionnaire script to be a signup requirement in the signup script, and I want it to log the questionnaire into my MySQL database as usual, then prompt the user with a successful sign up.

I'm still really new to PHP and I'm just testing to see if this'll work. How would I go about doing this? Thanks a LOT guys.

Questionnaire:

<?php
  // Start the session
  require_once('startsession.php');

// Insert the page header
  $page_title = 'Questionnaire';
  require_once('header.php');

require_once('appvars.php');
  require_once('connectvars.php');

// Make sure the user is logged in before going any further.
  if (!isset($_SESSION['user_id'])) 
  {
    echo '<p class="login">Please <a href="login.php">log in</a> to access this page.</p>';
    exit();
  }

// Show the navigation menu
  require_once('navmenu.php');

// Connect to the database
  $dbc = mysqli_connect(DB_HOST, DB_USER, DB_PASSWORD, DB_NAME);

// If this user has never answered the questionnaire, insert empty responses into the database
  $query = "SELECT * FROM mismatch_response WHERE user_id = '" . $_SESSION['user_id'] . "'";
  $data = mysqli_query($dbc, $query);
  if (mysqli_num_rows($data) == 0) 
  {
    // First grab the list of topic IDs from the topic table
    $query = "SELECT topic_id FROM mismatch_topic ORDER BY category_id, topic_id";
    $topicIDs = array();
    while ($row = mysqli_fetch_array($data)) 
{
      array_push($topicIDs, $row['topic_id']);
    }

// Insert empty response rows into the response table, one per topic
    foreach ($topicIDs as $topic_id) 
{
      $query = "INSERT INTO mismatch_response (user_id, topic_id) VALUES ('" . $_SESSION['user_id']. "', '$topic_id')";
      mysqli_query($dbc, $query);
    }
  }