ZEND vs Custom - What do you think?

johnrb87

Hi all

I wonder if people can help me out here.

It's a "bespoke" vs "framework" question, so not sure its belongs in here, but I didn't want to post it in the ZEND group, as it may have many more "pro ZEND fans" who read it, and I wanted a general thought.

This is all based on the fact that I have a big project coming up and I want to know if I should be sticking with a custom job, or if something like ZEND is the way to go.

Basically I have been developing PHP for about 2 years now and I have always thought a custom site written from scratch was the best way to go, not only does it allow you to have the minimal code needed to run the site, therefore reducing load, space and bandwidth, but it also allows you to know exactly how the system works, I guess the downside is that you have to spend more time doing the coding.

But I have a few friends who use frameworks, ZEND has been coming up more and more, it's not really my ideal system to use as I prefer coding from scratch (not sure why),  but they swear by it, and always tell me its great, its winning awards and none of them code from scratch, one of them even quoted that it "will become the standard for development" - is this true?

Apart from being massively bulky and containing tons of files with scripts and functions that you might never ever use, what do people see as a downside to ZEND, If any?

Is it best to code from scratch, and if so, why? Or does using something like ZEND much better?

I guess if you always use ZEND, then you never really enhance your skill as a coder and never really learn anything new, plus I always think it's kind of cheeky using a pre-built system.

Is there a good argument that would say using ZEND is not really a good idea? Or is the general feeling toward ZEND being a good thing?