login script with redirect to previous url help

siamsam

Hey freaks!

I have run into a bit of a snag and need a little guidance from the wise ones. :)

I have a login script that users are redirected to if they land on restricted pages of my site. Initially, I used javascript (go back (-1) to get the user back to the page they were previously on after logging in - which worked fine...but only if they got their login credentials right the first time (which will probably never happen that often). The login form processes itself, so if they get it wrong, it comes back to login.php.

I noticed that when I test logging in and purposely enter the wrong information, when I do enter the right info the login page comes back up because it was the previous url.

I am not a big fan of JS and I am still fairly new to PHP, so I am not sure how to do this. I tried setting a session for the previous url using http referer (if the url did not equal login.php), but it did not like that at all! Undefined index, headers already sent, you name it...I got the error...

I can post my code if need be, but it is just a basic login script (with a lot of Dreamweaver mumbo jumbo) that checks the username and pass in mysql.

Any suggestions? Should I use a session for this? Or is it probably one of those switch statements that I am not remotely close in knowledge to writing myself...lol. Or even scarier...a custom function?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

heya,

I am still learning, but ill give it a try:

I have a login script that users are redirected to if they land on restricted pages of my site. 

What you could do is on a secured page place an if statement with a header location included. So when people visit a page without being logged in, they are redirected to a general login page, and not 1 page back as with your javascript.

you can do this :

<?php
if (any condition in here){ // probably your session stuff
header('Location: http://www.example.com/login.php');
}
?>