Sql delete from row by clicking a button

jdock1

Im displaying the results of a database by using a while loop... so Im trying to figure out how to delete some entries from the datbase. What I wanted to do is add a button in each result that will have the value "delete"... but I cant figure out how to do this. Im kinda new to mysql. I just want it so when I click the button the result will get deleted from the database.

I did some research on this but I cant really grasp the examples.

Can anybody help me out with this one?

Thanks!

If it's likely that you'll want to delete multiple records at a time, you'd be better off to add a checkbox when you echo each record, then you can loop through the checkbox array and delete the associated records with one click (and a confirmation dialog, if you want one).

If it's likely that you'll want to delete multiple records at a time, you'd be better off to add a checkbox when you echo each record, then you can loop through the checkbox array and delete the associated records with one click (and a confirmation dialog, if you want one).

I was thinking of that, the only problem is Idk where to start with that... Its frustrating I cant think of anyway to do it at all. Can you give a few code examples?

Take a look a these scripts and you should get a pretty good idea of what you need to do. They're pretty basic and could be organized a little better, but do include some validation and error checking. I briefly tested them locally, and they seem to do as intended, but there are no warranties, either express or implied :)

test.php

<?php
// **** include your own database credentials ****
$dbc = mysqli_connect('localhost', 'root', 'root', 'test') or die( 'Database unavailable' );
// for this example, retrieve only the newest 30 records
$query = "SELECT `pk_id`, `name`, `email`, `department` FROM `table` LIMIT 30";
echo '<table>';
if( $result = mysqli_query($dbc, $query) or die(mysqli_error($dbc)) ) {