Classes

diocyria

Hello All,

I am fairly new to PHP class development, and I was wondering if it is normal behaviour to see classes not being able to access global variables related to PHP-based requests ($_GET, $_SESSION, etc.)? I seem to either have to use "global <var>" inside of the class to access the data, or I am forced to change the methods so then such required data is passed in as parameters. Perhaps I am just doing something wrong?

Here is an example of what I mean:

class Something
{
       function aFunc()
       {
               if (isset($_SESSION['somedata'])) { return false; } // this always returns false whether I had set the value or not
       }
       function bFunc()
       {
              global $_SESSION; // figured this would already be in a global accessible scope
              if (isset($_SESSION['somedata'])) { return false; } // now this will return false only when the value is set
       }
}

Now the above example is commented to demonstrate what I was meaning above, and I was wondering if this was the 'norm' when developing classes for PHP (and thus such values should be passed as parameters)?

Thanks!

ooops the above example should be (sorry I typed it up really quick the first time):

class Something
{
       function aFunc()
       {
               // this always returns true whether I had set the value or not
               if (isset($_SESSION['somedata'])) { return false; }
               return true;
       }
       function bFunc()
       {
              global $_SESSION; // figured this would already be in a global accessible scope
              if (isset($_SESSION['somedata'])) { return false; } // now this will return false only when the value is set
              return true;
       }
}

There, hopefully that makes a little more sense.