Retaining user data in forms after page reloads - Newbie confused

DCM

Hi, I have been trying to get the below code to work but without luck for the past couple of days.

Can anyone help point out where i am going wrong.

I have a webpage that has several buttons which will eventually let users search for data stored in different tables of a postgresql database ( i have simplified the code here to just two buttons).

When the user clicks the Search for hostname button a form is displayed letting them type in their search criteria.

Upon clicking the submit button i am able to access the users search strings with no problem but i cannot get the original search form to display above the search results additonaly including the users original search strings.

Any help on this would be much appreciated as i am pulling my hair out, as you can probably guess i am very new to PHP/HTML :)

My code is

<? 
session_start(); 
?>

<form method="POST" action="<? echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];?>">
<center>
<button type="submit" id="green_button" name="searchhostname">Search for Hostname</button>
<button type="submit" id="green_button" name="searchipaddress">Search for IP address</button>
</center>
</form>
</body>

<?			
// If user clicks the search hostname button display the additonal search form
if ($_POST['searchhostname'])
{
	echo "Search for Hostnames and IP Addresses:<br><br>";
	echo "<form method='POST' action='".$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']."'>";
	echo "Hostname: <input type='text' name='hostname' size='16' value='".$_POST['hostname']."'/>";
	echo "<br>"; 	 
	echo "Operating System: <input type='text' name='ostype' size='16' value='".$_POST['ostype']."'/>";
	echo "<br>";
	echo "<input type='submit' id='green_button' value='Search' name='runsearch'><br><br>";
	echo"</form>";

}

// If user has entered criteria to search on run the search but alos display the original search form above
// and any data the user has entered before displaying results

if ($_POST['runsearch'])
{