I want a value not a "Reference #"

dontflinch

I am a php/mysql noob, so please forgive me for probably sounding dumb.

I'm working on a virtuemart installation and I want to make it so that the only time the "add to cart" form shows is when the category_id=1.  anything else, not there.  obviously category_id is an integer.

I've selected the column I want.  $result = mysql_query('SELECT category_id FROM qa_vm_product_category_xref');

then I've flailed around for the last 4 hours trying all sorts of stuff like this (and a bunch of other variations):

if ($result == '1') { echo $form_addtocart; } else { false ;} 

$desired = 1; if (mysql_result(($result,0) == $desired)) { echo $form_addtocart; } else { false ;}

$desired = 1; $fieldvalue = mysql_fetch_field($result);  if ($fieldvalue == $desired) { echo $form_addtocart; } else { false ;}

since I am so new I cannot even tell if it's just messed up quotes (which I have tried so many ways my eyes are crossed).  I echoed the $result and that's when I saw the Reference # stuff and saw about how mysql_query returns a 'resource' not the value.  other times everything just says 1 (even ones that are category_id 2).

any help please? 

rest assured I contribute to the virtuemart and joomla forums occasionally and if ever I get this figured out I will most likely post it there for others that might desire such a fix.  thanks!

trying all sorts of stuff

Yes, but did you try reading a php/mysq tutorial so that you would know how to retrieve data from a result resource? You must fetch the data. See any of the mysql_fetch_xxxxxx() instructions in the php.net documentation.

And since this is actually a php coding problem, moving thread to the php help forum section...

yes, thanks for the move.  since it is php calling mysql I figured it was mysql but I guess I was wrong.

also in my post I mentioned that I had read the manual and even tried mysql_fetch_field.

thanks anyway.