Linking Objects together

TomTees

In a relational database, you "link" tables together.  For example, Customer (parent) ---> Product (child)

How do you do that with Objects?

I have a "User" class and an "AddressBook" class.  A User can have zero or more Addresses (in their AddressBook).

If I create a User object and an AddressBook object, I need a way to link them up similar to how they are linked up in the database.

Make sense?!

TomTees

You would have a method within the User object that creates (and returns) an AddressBook object.

Would you please make up a simple example and show me some code since I'm a newbie to OOP?!  :)

Also, in this scenario, I guess "User", "AddressBook" and "Address" would all be objects?!

TomTees

Keep in mid that this is a VERY simple example of ONE way to do it. if you want multiple address books per User you would need to make the private $_addressBook variable an array and populate that with AddressBook objects but I'll leave that for you to play with.

<?php
class AddressBook
{
    private $_street;

public function __construct($id) {
        // some code that populates the AddressBook object from a database.
    }

public function getStreet() {
        return $this->_street;
    }
}

class User
{
    private $_addressBook = null;
    private $_id;
    private $_name;

public function __construct($id) {
        // some code that populates the User object from a database.
    }

public function getName() {
        return $this->_name;
    }

public function getAddressBook() {
        if (is_null($this->_addressBook)) {
            $this->_addressBook = new AddressBook($this->_id);
        }
        return $this->_addressBook;
    }
}

$user = new User(22);
echo $user->getAddressBook()->getStreet();

I should mention that for stuff like this (objects being populated from data within a database), you should likely be using an ORM instead.