Writing DB Contents to a File, then retrieving information via PHP.

Jumpy09

I'm going to be blunt, I've been working on a website for quite some time now and I never really stopped to think about the effects that an over abundant amount of queries could actually slow things down.  I'm quite new to the whole PHP / MySQL thing so I am still learning.

While reading through some things about optimization of queries I've learned some valuable information, such as working with Indexes, and not running unnecessary queries which the data doesn't seem to change that often.

So for a few aspects of my site which don't really change in particular periods of time, I've decided to write the contents of them into a text file then retrieve and display them as normal through my site.  Things that last an hour, or a day, will no longer be queries on each page load; tremendously reducing the amount of queries which my database would take.

Currently I have the following code:

if($database->numrows($query) > 0) {
        $myFile = 'testFile.txt';

if($fh = fopen($myFile, 'w')) {
        $i = 0;
        while($row = $database->fetchassoc($query)) {
            ++$i;
            $stringData = '' . $row['id'] . '--' . $row['name'] . '--' . $row['color'] . '--' . $row['bdaytest'] . '--' . $row['gmtoffset'] . "\n";
            fwrite($fh, $stringData);

}
    fclose($fh);
    }
}

Which Prints Out

32--User3--0--1939-10-03--+0.0

27--User7--0--1979-10-04--+17.0

28--User65--150--1969-10-05--+17.0

30--User1--0--1959-10-06--+6.0

31--User9--0--1949-10-07--+3.0

29--User5--0--1989-10-08--+17.0

The problem stems from pulling the information from the file and exploding it.  That file would be for yesterday's up to 7 days from now's birthdays.

The amount of lines could change, possibly messing up the possibility of an array.