Sending XML via http post in PHP ?

dmmd01

I'm new to PHP, XML, and web development in general, so please bear with me... I'm working in a PHP environment and need to send user credentials $username  and $password in XML via a HTTP post. Does that even make sense? Let me explain:

I have already successfully used a method of capturing credentials, and they can be called by the use of $username and $password. I need to pass these on to an XML web service on another domain, but they need to be included in a larger piece of XML. To top it all off, I need this process to occur only when an image in a page is clicked.

Here is the XML that needs to be sent (except that $username and $password are my strings from above):

<xml-fragment xmlns:vp="http://my.host.com/somedirectory">  <vp:vprequest>  <query>authenticateUser</query>  </vp:vprequest>  <vp:vpuser>  <username>$username</username>  <password>$password</password>  <userid/>  <firstname/>  <lastname/>  <useremail/>  <assignedRoles>  <roleDef/>  </assignedRoles>  </vp:vpuser>  <vportal>  <vportal_id>1</vportal_id>  </vportal> </xml-fragment>

I need to send it to: https://my.host.com/xmlwebapp

Anything sending to the XML Web App must pass their XML data with the content type set to application/xml.

I'm confused with how I should be sending this. I believe that the XML APP can receive HTTP POST, but I don't know how to write that code into PHP and then have it send it all as XML.

Any help would be appreciated! Thank you!

JL - thank you for responding. I have never used curl, but am reading about it now. I was able to find that I have curl installed on my host, so that is a start. Can you point me to a page with sample code on how something like what I am trying to do is accomplished? I'm using PHP 5.3.2 and curl 7.1.15

Again, thank you!