How to count days from a certain date?

Mavrik347

Hi guys, I've hit a brick wall here and am in need of your help. :(

I'm pretty new to PHP and have limited knowledge to say the least. I'll explain what it is I'm trying to do.

Set start date as 01/01/2004 (dmY) $oFour

Set how many days has it been since then? $today

Set how many days it was from $ofour 30 days ago. $today -30 = $thirtyDaysAgo

But the problem is I don't know how to make

date('z');

work from 2004 and not 01/01/2010.

So $today will be how many days it has been since the start of 2004 and $thirtyDaysAgo will be $today -30. I can set up $thirtyDaysAgo no problem but it's just finding out how to get the $today number...

Hope anyone can offer a little light to my situation :/

Mav

Check out the DateTime class

<?php
$date = '2004/10/21'; //get the start date from a form $_POST['date']

$oFour = new DateTime($date);
$today = new DateTime();

$date_of_oFour = $oFour->format('m-d-Y'); //accepts any string that date accepts.

$interval = $oFour->diff($today);
$thirty_days_from_oFour = $oFour->sub(new DateInterval('P30D'));

$days_since_oFour = $interval->format('%a days');
$days_subtracted_from_oFour = $oFour->format('m-d-Y');

echo 'Start date: ' . $date_of_oFour . '<br />Days since the start date: ' .  $days_since_oFour . '<br />30 days before the start date: ' . $days_subtracted_from_oFour;
?>

Tested.

You can still take advantage of unix timestamps to handle these types of problems.

// Current Unix timestampdefine('SECONDSPERDAY', 60*60*24);$nowTS = time();// Your old date$oldTS = mktime(0,0,0,1,1,2004);// Date of your old date - 30$oldTS30prior = date('m-d-Y', $oldTS - (30 * SECONDSPERDAY));$daysSince = ($nowTS - $oldTS) / SECONDSPERDAY;echo 'Today:' . date('m-d-Y', $nowTS);echo ' 2004 date: ' . date('m-d-Y', $oldTS);echo " -30 days: $oldTS30prior ";echo " Days from 1-1-2004 to now: $daysSince";

My host is hopeless and refuses to do his job and update PHP.