PHP Security

johnrb87

Hi everyone

I'm kinda new to PHP and have a couple of questions;

1: How secure is PHP, is it very hackable? Are there things you recommend to make it more secure?

2: I am building a little employee system for staff at a friends company and they can view personal information when they login, as well as ordering stuff with online payment through WorldPay.

What is therefore the best and most secure way of handling passwords, logins, data, insert statements etc.

I basically want to make it as secure as possible and hopefully learn some new skills

Any tips or help would be great

Thanks

PHP is as secure as YOU make it. The answers to your questions could (nad have) fill entire books. Trying to answer them in a forum post cannot be done in an adequate manner. There are plenty of articles out there on different aspects of security (file locaitons, database, encryption, etc.). You will need to do research on each type of security to decide how best to approach it.

however, if you have questions about a specific "piece" then by all means aska  question here to get answers/opinions.

For passwords, you have 2 different ways.

1. 1 way hash / encrypt - $password = md5(sha1(sha1(md5($password))));

This will allow you to mash up the password pretty good, but if the user forgets the PW, it needs to be reset to a random string.

2. 2 way hash / encrypt - Tutorial in this forum

This will encrypt the password, but will allow you to decrypt it as well.

$password = encrypt($password);

$password = decrypt($password);

Lots and lots of stuff out there.  With payments, you are also talking SSL and/or HTTPs.

1. 1 way hash / encrypt - $password = md5(sha1(sha1(md5($password))));

What a waste of CPU & parser power - md5() was hacked a while back, google it to see. I will advocate the use of the hash() function, just use hash_algos(); to see what is available, then use the desired algorithm in the function:-

hash('SHA512', $password);