Calling a specific PDF file from a non web-accessible folder

yiaggi

Hi guys,

I hope you may be able to shed some light on a problem I am having. I am fairly new to PHP although do understand bits and peices such as login system.

Basically - I have a website with lets say 10 users (more like 500 but that will do for now!) - Each user has their own page wich is password protected.

Each month - I want to be able to upload PDF files to the server - which CAN ONLY BE ACCESSED BY THE RELEVANT user. They must not be able to see each others PDF files.

To do this I have been advised to have a non-web accessible folder on my server to put the PDF's in and then use PHP to handle the operation. Therefore my path would be:

1/ User logs into page

2/ User clicks the PDF link

3/ PF link goes to PHP page that checks they are logged in and then the PDF they want before delivering to the server.

I do actually understand the theory but my PHP is not at the stage where I can just write the code that will handle the operation. I am also very confused over how to access the non-web accessible files!

Could anyone please give me an example of the code I will need to use to a) check the user is logged in (I guess I can use the same code I used for the login) and then b) call the relevant PDF and display it? I have been given a path of c:\blahblahblah to access my PDF files but don't even know how to begin implimenting this!

Here is the code I use for my login system. Could anyone show me how to adapt it to get what I need?

Thank so much for anyone that can help - hopefully I will be in a position to give back one day!

--------------------------------------------

if(isset($_SESSION['loggedin']))

{

header("Location:" . strtolower($username) . ".php");

if(isset($_POST['submit']))

{

$username = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['username']);

$password = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['password']);