Lost Password script

timwhelan

Okay I am a beginner and haven't coded in months. I am trying to find a tutorial or help figuring out how to build a lost password script for user log-in system I built a while ago.

Can anyone help with either something that works that I can learn from, a tutorial somewhere?

thanks

Tim

Thanks for the link.

I followed all the steps. Everything acts like it is working - it processes the information - sends the email with passcode - and clicking the passcode process and deletes from the temp db table, however it doesn't write the new password to the old database table. Below is the code, am I missing something?  The one thing I can question is I have a lot more fields in the db table that I want to write beside the first name, last name, password and userid - which is there email, would that be the problem?

Thanks for helping!!!

<?
include('db.php');

// Passkey that got from link
$passkey=$_GET['passkey'];

$tbl_name1="temp_applicants";

// Retrieve data from table where row that match this passkey
$sql1="SELECT * FROM $tbl_name1 WHERE confirmation_code ='$passkey'";
$result1=mysql_query($sql1);

// If successfully queried
if($result1){

// Count how many row has this passkey
$count=mysql_num_rows($result1);

// if found this passkey in our database, retrieve data from table "temp_applicants"
if($count==1){

$rows=mysql_fetch_array($result1);
$first_name=$rows['first_name'];
$userid=$rows['userid'];
$password=$rows['password'];
$last_name=$rows['last_name'];

$tbl_name2="astro_applicants";

// Insert data that retrieves from "temp_applicants" into table "astro_applicants"
$sql2="INSERT INTO $tbl_name2(userid, password, first_name, last_name)VALUES('$userid', '$password', '$first_name', '$last_name')";
$result2=mysql_query($sql2);
}

// if not found passkey, display message "Wrong Confirmation code"
else {
echo "Wrong Confirmation code";
}