<html>

<head></head>

<body>

My favourite bands are:

<ul>

<?php

// define arrays

$morebands = array('Desturbed', 'Anthrax');

$artists = array('Metallica', 'Evanescence', 'Linkin Park', 'Guns n Roses', "$morebands");

// loop over it

// print array elements

foreach ($artists as $a) {

if ($a != 'Array'){

echo '<li>'.$a;

}

Else {

foreach ("${$a}" as $b){

echo '<li>'.$b;

}

}

}

?>

</ul>

</body>

</html>

I can not figure out why this will not work:(

I would like the foreach to run through the array as normal, but if it encounters a nested array, loop it as well.

I know this likely is not the right, or best way to do this, but I am just learning PHP through a tutorial and I learn best by doing... So I take the lessons, make them more complicated, then figure out how to make it happen (like so).

right now I am working on

http://devzone.zend.com/node/view/id/635

anyhow thanks for any help!

Try the following...

<html>
<head></head>
<body>
My favourite bands are:
<ul>

<?php
  // define arrays
  $artists = array('Metallica', 'Evanescence', 'Linkin Park', 'Guns n Roses', $morebands);

// echo each value
  foreach($artists AS $a) {
    if(gettype($a) == 'array') {
      foreach($a AS $b) {
        echo '<li>',$b;
      }
    } else {
      echo '<li>',$a;
    }
  }

?> 

</ul>
</body>
</html> 

Tell me how it goes bud :)

Regards, Paul.

I'm wondering why you're putting the $morebands array as an array inside of the $artists array.  This seems more logical:

$artists = array_merge(array('Metallica', 'Evanescence', 'Linkin Park', 'Guns n Roses'), $morebands);

foreach ($artists as $a) {
echo "<li>$a</li>";
}

to learn how.

I started learning PHP about 2 days ago and I am following that tutorial I linked earlier. The next logical step for me was to see if I could nest the arrays.

Anyhow, I noticed part of what you fixed was the way I defined the artist array.

from