Load multiple e-mails and validate them

droidman

hi, im new here i hope to learn and help in the way i can since i'm a newbie with php but here it goes.

I have some old databases i need to test, i want to mail these old users from a website i had but i need to know if the database contains invalid e-mails and remove them so i dont mess up my server's good ip reputation.

So i found the checkdnsrr function:

function checkEmail($email) {
// checks proper syntax
if(preg_match("/^([a-zA-Z0-9])+([a-zA-Z0-9\._-])*@([a-zA-Z0-9_-])+([a-zA-Z0-9\._-]+)+$/" , $email)) {

// gets domain name
	list($username,$domain)=split('@',$email);
	// checks for if MX records in the DNS
	if(!checkdnsrr($domain, 'MX')) {
		return false;
	}
	return true;
}
return false;
}

so everyone knows this function, i just wanted to run it to multiple e-mail addresses like from a text file. when i say multiple, i mean arround 500.000 or 50k at the time. i just want to output the bad e-mails to a text file.

hope someone can help me on this one.

thanks in advance

All that does validate the address format and tell you if the domain has a valid DNS MX entry associated with it. It won't tell you if the actual address is valid or not.

Hi Pikachu2000, i know about that, that is what i need right now. i just want to know if their domain still works.

This will work, but I suspect it will take an enormous amount of time to run. Probably be best if you break up the text file into smaller chunks and run them that way. You'll need to create the good_addresses.txt and bad_addresses.txt files in the same directory as the script (or edit the path), and it assumes the addresses are each on their own line in the all_addresses.txt file. I know there has to be a better, more efficient way; I just can't think of it at the moment.

<?php
   // checks proper syntax
   if(preg_match("/^([a-zA-Z0-9])+([a-zA-Z0-9\._-])*@([a-zA-Z0-9_-])+([a-zA-Z0-9\._-]+)+$/" , $email)) {

// gets domain name
         return false;