Adding an ENCODE to my sql insert statement

dlcmpls

I need a little help with encode.  I'm just learning how to work with ENCODE and DECODE.

I've written this sql query, which works just fine (minus the encode):

mysql_connect("localhost", "username", "password") or die(mysql_error());

mysql_select_db("dbname") or die(mysql_error());

mysql_query("INSERT INTO mymembers

(ID, rec_no, email, PASSWORD, firstname) VALUES('', '', 'grr@t.com', 'pass2', 'dan' ) ")

or die(mysql_error());

Now I want to try and ENCODE the password, so I wrote this query:

mysql_query("INSERT INTO mymembers

(ID, rec_no, email, PASSWORD, firstname) VALUES('', '', 'grr@t.com', ENCODE('pw101', 'key101'), 'dan' ) ")

or die(mysql_error());

But that query fails and throws this error message:

"You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'pw101', 'key101')', 'pass2', 'dave' )' at line 2"

This seems to be a quotation mark issue to me.

Can anyone help me write a sql insert that will use ENCODE on the password?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Sorry about that.  I modified my code to remove real variable data.  Here's my code:

mysql_query("INSERT INTO members

(ID, rec_no, email, PASSWORD, firstname) VALUES('', '', 'ENCODE('pw101', 'key101')', 'pass2', 'dave' ) ")

or die(mysql_error());

I've modified the variables in the connect and select strings.

Here's my error message:

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'pw101', 'key101')', 'pass2', 'dave' )' at line 2

Well, removing the single quotes around the ENCODE removed the error message I was getting, but now the field in my db that should be populated is empty.

Here's my updated query:

mysql_connect("localhost", "user", "pass") or die(mysql_error());

mysql_query("INSERT INTO members