Problem with MySQL_Query

Corbokhan

I'm pretty new to PHP and I'm having trouble inserting data into my database from a webpage. Here is the code.

The error is on the lines with $query and $result. The error comes back:

Warning: mysql_query(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /home/content/76/5697876/html/corbinreynolds/insert.php on line 39

Lost connection to MySQL server at 'reading initial communication packet', system error: 111

I've been working at this for hours and can't seem to figure this out. Any ideas?

<?php

$first=$_POST['first'];
$last=$_POST['last'];

if (!$first || !$last) {
echo 'Error: Enter the required data.';
exit;
}

if (!get_magic_quotes_gpc()) {
    $first = addslashes($first);
    $last = addslashes($last);
}

$hostname = '127.0.0.1';
$username = 'root';
$password = 'root';
$dbname = 'phonebook';

@ $db = mysql_connect($hostname,$username.$password,$dbname);

if (mysqli_connect_errno()) {
echo 'Errer: Could not connect to database';
echo '<br>';
echo mysqli_connect_error();
exit;
}

$query = "INSERT INTO contact (first,last) VALUES ('$first','$last')";
$result = mysql_query($query,$db) or die(mysql_error());

if ($result) {
echo $db->affected_rows." contact inserted into the database";
echo 'Contact Entered:  '.$first.' '.$last.'';
}
else {
echo 'Error: Contact not added.';
exit;
}

echo 'Closing Database';
$db->close();

?>

First off, you are trying to use both mysql and mysqlI functions.  You can't do that, pick one.  Second, you have an error in your connect string.  There is a dot instead of a comma.  Thirdly, $db is not an object.  I think you have just copied code from different places and tried to hack it together. Also, don't use the @ error suppression, ever.

Line 39 starts with $query.

111 is the error code.

There is no reason for that error message when you just assign a string to a variable. So probably the line under?

@ $db = mysql_connect($hostname,$username.$password,$dbname);