Trying to insert to a database with a passed value and a form

fufaso

Hey all,

I'm very new to php and am having an issue writing to my database with a passed value and info taking from a form and am lost as to what to do.

The $comm_id is the value I am getting from another php page that I am passing in the link from the other page. I need to insert that value, the session variable, and the $cmt value, which is taken from the user input from the form. As it stands now, when I run this, the $comm_id and $u_id insert and the $cmt is blank, BUT $cmt is echoing on the screen with the proper value.

Any tips or direction would be great as i've been trying to sort this out for days now and i'm stumped.

<?php 

$host='localhost';
$user='username';
$password='password';
$dbname='db_a';
session_start();
$id_link=mysql_connect($host,$user,$password);
mysql_select_db($dbname, $id_link);

$comm_id = $_GET['commId'];
$u_id = $_SESSION['userId']; 
echo $comm_id;
echo $u_id;

$cmt = $_POST["comm"];
mysql_query("insert into Comments values($u_id, $comm_id,'$cmt');");
echo $cmt;

?>

<FORM ACTION="test.php" METHOD="POST">
<input type="text" name="comm">
<input type="SUBMIT">
</FORM> 

$query="insert into Comments values($u_id, $comm_id,'$cmt')";
echo $query;
mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

Correct me if I'm wrong, but you never choose what columns to insert those values on...

Still, if you use what I wrote above, you may get some idea of what is wrong...

$query="insert into Comments values($u_id, $comm_id,'$cmt')";
echo $query;
mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

Correct me if I'm wrong, but you never choose what columns to insert those values on...

Still, if you use what I wrote above, you may get some idea of what is wrong...

there are only 3 columns in the db, so there is no need. the first 2 values are inserting fine, just the last one isn't. If I change $cmt to a hard coded value, it all works.