First Post, New PHP User, May need Mentor

neverbegosu

Hey fellas, and ladies, and all you other php wize's.  Names mike and I'm new to php and mysql.  Ive done alot of self study but have no formal training at all.  I am pretty much just winging my code from w3 schools and other php online codeing helps.  I am currently making a registration script for my site, and have hit a bit of a snag.  Her is the current code for my regpass.php.

<?php

include('srvdbcon.php');

$NewUserNameTest=$_POST['NewUserName'];

if(!ereg('[^A-Za-z0-9]',$NewUserNameTest))

{

$query="SELECT * FROM user WHERE user ='$_POST(NewUserName)'";

$result=mysql_query($query);

$num=mysql_num_rows($result);

if($num == 0)

{

$query2="SELECT * FROM user WHERE email ='$_POST(NewUserEmail)'";

$result2=mysql_query($query2);

$num2=mysql_num_rows($result2);

if ($num2 == 0)

{

if(($_POST[NewUserPw]==$_POST[NewUserPwCon])&&($_POST[NewUserEmail]==$_POST[NewUserEmailCon]))

{

//Create a random code

$confirm_code=md5(uniqid(rand()));

//HACK PREVENTION

$name=strip_tags($_POST['NewUserName']);

$email=strip_tags($_POST['NewUserEmail']);

$pw=strip_tags($_POST['NewUserPw']);

//Insert Information Into Temp Code

$sql="INSERT INTO temp SET code='$confirm_code',user='$name', email='$email', password='$pw'";

$result=mysql_query($sql);

if($result)

{

$message="SCG.O Confirmation \r\n";

$message="Enter this confirmation code into confirmation page.\r\n";

$message="Enter code into confirmation: $confirm_code";

$sentmail=mail("$email",'Registration Confirmation',"$message",'From: SCGAdmin@uprisetechnology.com');

header("Location:index.php");

}

else

{

die ("Something went wrong.");

}

}

else

{

die("Password And / Or Email does not match the confirmation entry");

}

}

else

{

die("Email Already in Use");

}

}

else

{

die("Username already in use");

}

}

else

{

die("Username includes Bad Characters.");

}

?>

----------------------------------------------------------------------------