Retrive from mysql by date

LanceyDavid

Hello,

this is my first time on this forum and also a modest newb on php, but i heard alot of people i know visit this site to get help on php. So i have a question, i know how to submit a form to mysql, the question is how do i recieve each indivual data i submit with the form by date and display it in order by date. i would like to submit kind of a status up everyday similar to twitter but order it by date and have it look kinda like:

July 5, 2006

This is a status example text that i will sumbit via form, links can be clicked and etc.

This is a status example text that i will sumbit via form, links can be clicked and etc.

July 4, 2006

You order the results by the date (so that all rows having the same date will be together in the result set.) Then in your presentation code you 'remember' what the last date is and when the date changes value you output the new date heading. Then you output the data. This results in a date heading followed by the data for that date.

Pseudo code -

$query = " your query string here.. ORDER BY date";  // assumes that your date column is a DATE data type so that ordering by it will sort the dates
$result = mysql_query($query);

// check if the query executed without error and if it returned any rows here...

// retrieve and process the data from the query
$last_date = ''; // initialize to a value that will never exist as data
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)){
    // test for a new date and output the date heading
    if($last_date != $row['date']){
        echo $row['date'] . "<br />";
        $last_date = $row['date']; // remember the new date
    }
    // output the data (under each date heading)
    echo $row['content'] . "<br />";
}