if statment help

jacko_162

Hi guys, hopfully you can help me write out an if Statment;

basically i want to make an "IF" statment to check if the user has purchased a "ticket" within the last 24 hours, if so echo YES if not echo NO

the 'ticket' database is setup as follows:

auctionID

promoID

username

charID

ticketNumber

ticketPrice

purchaseDate - Example:" 20101228 11:59:25"

it will include the WHERE clause of "username =$username"

can someone help me please, im not good with time based stuff..

86400 Seconds are in a day, since timestamps are measured in seconds we want to check if the purchase was made in the last 86400 seconds.

As desjardins2010 pointed out, you are missing some information, so this is sort of generic.

$inTheLastDay = (time()-strtotime($purchaseDate)<86400) ? TRUE : FALSE;

echo ($inTheLastDay) ? "Yes" : "No";

The first line checks if the current time is less than one day after the purchase time, if it is (meaning they purchased in the last day), it returns true, otherwise it will return false.

The next outputs Yes if the first line is true, and No if it's false.

ok here is my ticketpurchase page.

<?php
session_start();

header('Location: index.php');

include "connect.php";

$id = $_SESSION['id'];
$user = $_SESSION['user'];
$ticketNumber = $_POST[ticketNumber];
//echo $_POST[ticketNumber];
$today = date("Ymd G:i:s");

$querySold = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM tickets WHERE promoID='$_POST[promoID]'&&ticketNumber='$ticketNumber';") or die(mysql_error());
//echo $querySold;
$sold = mysql_fetch_assoc($querySold);
//print_r($sold);
//echo $sold;

//check if ticket is sold
if(empty($sold)!=FALSE){

$queryBal = mysql_query("SELECT user_iskbalance FROM users WHERE username = '$user';") or die(mysql_error());
//echo $querySold;
//echo $user;
$balArray = mysql_fetch_assoc($queryBal);
$bal = $balArray[user_iskbalance];
$newBal = $bal-$_POST[ticketPrice];

//check if user has bought more than 1 ticket