Login Script

VeritasSegus

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to php and am starting off my journey by trying to create a simple login/register script.  I have run into a bit of difficulty, however, and cannot seem to get this to work. I know that the register script is very basic (lacks strlen check, doesn't verify that both passwords are the same, etc.), but for the time being I simply want to have a functional script.  Then I can continue learning by adding more components.  Here are the login.php, checklogin.php, and register.php files (in this order).  I believe that the login/checklogin files work, but the register file just shows the form without actually writing to DB when it is submitted.  Thank you very much for your help.

<html>
<body>
<b> Member Login </b> <br />
<form name="input" action="checklogin.php" method="post">
Username : <input type="text" name="myusername" id="username"> <br />
Password : <input type="password" name="mypassword" id="password"> <br />
<input type="checkbox" name="remember" value="checkbox"> Remember me <br />
<input type="submit" value="Login">
Not a member? <a href="./register.php">Register!</a>
</form>
</body>
</html>

<?php
$host="localhost";
$usr="root";
$pwd="";
$db="MemberDB";
$tbl_name="members";

mysql_connect($host, $usr, $pwd) or die("Unable to connect");
mysql_select_db($db) or die("Unable to select database");

$myusr = $_POST['myusername'];
$mypswd = md5($_POST['mypassword']);

$myusername = stripslashes(strip_tags($myusr));
$mypassword = stripslashes(strip_tags($mypswd));
$myusername = mysql_real_escape_string($myusr);
$mypassword = mysql_real_escape_string($mypswd);

$sql="SELECT *FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$myusername' and password='$mypassword'";
$result=mysql_query($sql);

$count=mysql_num_rows($result);

if ($count==1) {
session_register("myusername");
session_register("mypassword");
header("location:menu.php");
}
else {
echo "Incorrect Username or Password";
}
?>

<?php
$host="localhost";
$usr="root";