Change Password function

infinite-monkey

Hi there

I'm a newbie to all of this so please be gentle!

I am starting up my own online business and I am feeling my way through PHP.  I have been doing ok so far but I'm having problems with the "change your password" function.  I change the password, I receive a reactivation email, but when I try to log in with the new password it hasnt changed. 

Code I'm using as follows:

<?php

// process.php

include 'config.php';

if(isset($_POST['changepassword']))
{

$current = trim($_POST['current']);
$new = trim($_POST['new']);
$confirm = trim($_POST['confirm']);

$pw = md5($current);

$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM Users WHERE Password = '$pw' LIMIT 1") or die(mysql_error());

if(mysql_num_rows($query) > 0)
{

while($row = mysql_fetch_array($query))
	{	

if ( $_POST['new'] == $_POST['confirm'] )
		{}else{

echo '<script>alert("Your passwords were not the same, please enter the same password in each field.");</script>';
			echo '<script>history.back(1);</script>';
			exit;

}

$password = md5($new);

$do = mysql_query("UPDATE Users SET Password = '$password' WHERE Password = '$pw' LIMIT 1") or die(mysql_error());
		$dotwo = mysql_query("UPDATE Users SET Activated = 0 WHERE Password = '$password' LIMIT 1") or die(mysql_error());
		$send = mail($row['Email'] , "Password changed" , "Your password has been changed to: ".trim($_POST['new'])."\n\nYou can change it again via the members only panel, but first you must re-activate your account:\nhttp://www.infinite-monkey.co.uk/activate.php?id=".$row['Actkey']."\n\nDo not reply to this email, it is automated. Thanks." , "From: auto@mailer.com");

if((($do)&&($dotwo)&&($send)))
		{

echo '<script>alert("Password changed. You will now be logged out and you must re-activate your account, check your email, a confirmation email has been sent.");</script>';
			echo '<script>location.replace("logout.php");</script>';

exit;

} else {