Newbie taken over site - registration php broken?

Bifford

Hey folks.

okay, I took over the admin of a website ( http://www.annualclownsdirectory.com ) a while back. I have changed nothing in the php but there seems to be a problem with account activation.

As a total newbie with php (I can work out what things do by reading the code, and can notice obvious mistakes but thats about it...) I have NO idea what is going on here to stop it working.

If I make a test account the email is sent to me with the link to click on to activate the account, which looks like this:

" http://www.annualclownsdirectory.com/confirm.php?id=330&hash=c6efb8f1d00beef170bd0df223ab87f1 "

but when clicked the website throws up this:

"Sorry, either this account is already active or it cannot be found, try logging in.

If you have just created this account and are getting this error then please wait a couple of minutes and try again"

Now when I check in myphpadmin the account is there, it's status is "unconfirmed" and I can't see anything wrong with the code (but as I say I am a total fresher here lol).

I have attached register.php so you can see what is there. I can see no "md5" variable in the phpmyadmin section for clown_account.

If any other files are needed please just say!  And again, apologies for being useless!

Sam / Bifford

[attachment deleted by admin]

Can you post confirm.php as well?  That is the script that is displaying the error message.  The important part is the condition it checks before it gives you that message.

I had a check in the register.php file and that error is not show at all. As btherl said, we need to be able to follow the route of that message to get to the problem.

if ($res && ($arr = mysql_fetch_assoc($res)) && !strcmp($hash, md5($arr['id'].$arr['password'])) ) {

The above statement is false and you would need to determine why. Any one, two, or all of the following are false -

$res will be false if the query failed due to an error.