Help, using checkboxes to search against a DB

redcow

Hopefully someone can help me before I run to the top of a bell tower :)

Okay, so aside from the dramatics, total noob here, playing around with PHP/Jquery/mySQL.

I'm trying to search a database using three checkboxes, these are keywords that are sent via Jquery to a php file where i'll do a search against the database and throw back any articles that match the keyword.

The Jquery/Form part is working, i'm just a little lost (to say the least) on where to go in the PHP end of things. I'm following Learning PHP and MySQL by O'Reilly but I'm stuck here.

So the form looks like this:

<form id="findkeywords">
<ul>
<li><input type="checkbox" name="keywords[]"  value="keyword1" title="keyword1" /></li>
<li><input type="checkbox" name="keywords[]"  value="keyword2" title="keyword2" /></li>
<li><input type="checkbox" name="keywords[]"  value="keyword3" title="keyword3" /></li>
<li><input type="submit" name="submit" class="search" /></li>
</ul>
</form>

The jQuery that passes the checkboxes to the php file is as follows:

<script type="text/javascript">
        $(document).ready(function(){
            $(".search").click(function()
            {           
                $.post("parser2.php", $("form#findkeywords").serialize(), 
                function(data)
                {        
                    $.each(data, function()
                    {   
                        $("div#result").append("<li class='arrow'><a href='parser2.php?id=" + this.id + "'>" + this.title + "</a></li>");
                    });
                    $("div#jsonContent").show();
                });
            });
        });
        </script>

Ok, so the trouble comes here, I want to take the checked boxes into the PHP file through $_POST, check for articles with the keywords and return them to the jQuery to be displayed, works fine with a simple 'type in and search', but I just can't get my head around the checkboxes.