while loop only updates one record

miguels

Ok, i've driven myself mad trying to figure this out. While I'm new at php I really think this should work. Could someone look at this and point me in the right direction? 

Ok background info: 

I have three tables  that I'm selecting from. I want to find the records in TABLE A that match these three criteria and "Join" per say.  the SELECT does exactly what I want and works.  My issue is when I try to LOOP through and pull certain information make adjustments in other tables Table C.. it only adjust as if it's gone through ONLY one loop. It will only do last record.  I want it to loop through the records it's found and Update the field in Table C to the balance of TABLE C + TABLE B price. Then update TABLE A with a value of 1 and LOOP and do it again until all records found in the original select are done.

CODE:

require_once ('./includes/config.inc.php');

$query = "SELECT 
			table_a.id,
			table_a.table_b_id,
			table_a.user_id,
			table_a.unit_returned,
			table_b.id,
			table_b.title,
			table_b.price,
			table_b.closed,
			table_c.id,
			table_c.nick,
			table_c.balance

FROM 
			table_a, table_b, table_c

WHERE 
			table_a.unit_returned= 0 
		AND table_b.closed = 1
		AND table_b.id = table_a.table_b_id
		AND table_c.id = table_a.user_id ";

$result = mysql_query($query);
$num = mysql_num_rows($result);
  echo "<table border='1'>";

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_NUM)) 

{
      echo "<tr><td>$row[0]</td><td>$row[1]</td><td>$row[2]</td><td>$row[3]</td><td>$row[4]</td><td>$row[5]</td><td>$row[6]</td><td>$row[7]</td><td>$row[8]</td><td>$row[9]</td><td>$row[10]</td></tr>";

$newbalance = $row[6];
                                $newbalance2 =$row[10];
                                $finalbalance = $newbalance+$newbalance2;
							$userid = $row[2];
							$signid = $row[0];

echo "$newbalance". " $newbalance2" . " $finalbalance"."<br>". "$userid ". "<br>"."$signid"."<br>";