How can I set php dates 10 years into the future?

liquid2g

Hi everyone,

I'm writing a science fiction wordpress blog set 10 years into the future.

I basically need all posts to display as if they are 10 years from now.

Eg. posts needs to display as:

February 7, 2021 instead of

February 7, 2011

This will be for every post that I write.

How can I automatically add 10 years to every post date?

(And where would I put that code?)

Currently, the wordpress php is calling the date with `<?php the_time(__('M j, Y')) ?>`

I realise it's a bit of an odd request, but it's necessary for this particular project. I know it's possible - but I'm brand new to php and am not sure how. =)

I hope someone out there can help. It would be very much appreciated.

many thanks in advance

Luke

You can do exactly what your wanting INSIDE of wordpress. No programming required. Go to the post you want to set a date for, and go to edit mode.

Over on the right hand side you'll see all of the publish options. The publish date is listed there as well. Edit that, and change the year to 10 years in the future. That

will show the date you have entered all throughout the site for that blog posts.  Rinse/Repeat for any new or old blog posts that you want to post into the system.

Very simple, no programming experience required.

Thanks Phppaper,

I tried doing as you said, changing teh date in single.php to

<?php the_time(__('M j, Y+10')) ?>

but it ends up displaying at 2011+10 instead of 2021.

What am I doing wrong?

businessman332211, thanks for the suggestion, but setting a post date 10 years into the future within wordpress simply schedules the post to appear in 10 years time, rather than having it appear now with the future date.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks silkfire.... this is getting close to what I need but

echo date('M j, Y', strtotime('+10 years'));

gives me today's date 10 years into the future,