Image filtering and text to URL.

Krasik

For starters. I'm relatively new to PHP programming. I've had minor VB and I have SOME understanding of programming in general. I was trying to find this solution myself without consulting anyone but with PHP5 and it's deprecated functions. I can't just paste code from the net and it work. Currently I have PHP 5.3.5 installed. I'm running on the newest Apache and MySQL builds.

Now to the part I want to get to work. I'm trying this just because I can. Basically. I would like php to scan a certain path and filter out the images. I have a script that does that fine. What I want to do is take the file names, append my host address and turn it into a clickable link. I also have a script that will turn text into URL's. I will paste the snippets I have. I was initially trying to use eregi_replace() but apparently that's been deprecated and I believe I should now use FileInfo() or something like that. Not quite sure what they do but am really wanting to learn. Thanks for any help you guys can offer.

<?php
$path = 'http://www.krasikart.no-ip.org';
$dir=$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT']."/htdocs/pics/";
$total = '';
// Retrieve all the images.
$files = glob ("$dir{*.jpg,*.jpeg,*.gif}", GLOB_BRACE);

// Confirm that matches were made.
if (is_array($files)) { 

// Loop through the array.
foreach ($files as $image) {
$total = $path . $image;		
print "$total \n";

// The Regular Expression filter
$reg_exUrl = "/(http|https|ftp|ftps)\:\/\/[a-zA-Z0-9\-\.]+\.[a-zA-Z]{2,3}(\/\S*)?/";

// The Text you want to filter for urls
$text = "$total";

// Check if there is a url in the text
if(preg_match($reg_exUrl, $text, $url)) {

// make the urls hyper links
       echo preg_replace($reg_exUrl, '<a href="'.$url[0].'" rel="nofollow">'.$url[0].'</a>', $text);

} else {

// if no urls in the text just return the text

}
}

} else {
echo 'No files matched the search pattern!';
}

?>