Update Single Column in a Single Record?

ccmcs

Hi, I've been scratching my head for a while now about how to do this, I'm relatively new to php and mysql and perhaps foolishly taking on creating a user area for a website.  I have everything else working, all of my register account functions and confirmations and all of the login scripts etc. 

I have created a profile page which returns various information to the user (this bit works fine) and I've got some nice show/hide toggles running with some javascript/css but my intention is to allow the user to change thier information (e-mail address, contact phone number and also whether they are subscribed to the e-mail list), it also displays any support tickets or messages.

So after the long intro, here's what I'm struggling with...  I have a form in a visibility toggled <div> which submits a 'change_email' script, so a user wants to change their e-mail, clicks on change, the <div> appears, they bang in the new e-mail and hit submit.

My php script appears to work (because it doesn't throw up any errors), until you realise that actually it's not updated the record in the db...

I'm using mysql_query("UPDATE users SET email='$new_email' WHERE username='$user'");

Do I need to setup variables for all of the information in the db (name, username, password, email, contno etc etc) and include them in the command to get it to work or should that just pick the correct record and then update it? If that is the case is there a way I can include 'blank' variables so I don't have to set them all up...

e.g.  mysql_query("UPDATE users SET user='',password='',email='$new_email', etc WHERE username='$user'");

Many thanks in anticipation