Basic Form Validation Structure

Doctor Sup

G'day All,

Firstly i appologise if this a simple question but I am new to PHP (litterally 2 days), I just have a basic structure question.

I have implemented a php script to solve a problem (irrelevant) and have made a form to enter the required data and written validation code and then processing code to produce the results. Currently my validation and processing code is in a seperate file 'process.php' which at this point just echos the results, the form is in 'form.php' and posts the data to 'process.php'. What I want to do is direct the user to a results page after processing (maybe this will be the page with the processing code? dont know if i can post results to another page) and back to form.php if it fails validation with the correct entries still entered and an appropraite error message. I have searched extensively and cant seem to find a standard or really even any relavant way of doing this. All I am considering is combing it all into one file and having a 'display form' function and a 'display results' function but this doesnt seem like very good or modulated coding.

Any help would be grealy appreciated.

Thanks Crayon Violent for the prompt reply,

I have read alittle on the header function but forgive me if i misunderstood its usage but wouldnt that mean that the user would then have to re-enter the entire form in form.php and any information entered would be lost in the redirection to results.php?

why yes, yes it would.  What you can do is

a) combine the form page with the processing script, and use the posted values as default values in your form, so if the validation fails, it outputs the form with the values the user posted.

b) use session variables to have the data persist from page to page, so that if the user is kicked back to form page, you can auto-pop the form values with session variables made from their posted vars