For Loop Adds One More?

chaseman

I'm trying to automatically change a math equation so that the solution is an even number:

It is at first complicated but I'm progressing.

This is my first attempt at accomplishing what I'm trying to accomplish.

if (($sol != round($sol)) && ($x1 < $x2)) {

/***********************************************************/
function round_up ($sol, $x1, $op, $x2) {

for ($x1 = $x1; $sol < round($sol); $x1++) {

switch ($op) {

case '+' : $sol = $x1 + $x2; break;
		case '-' : $sol = $x1 - $x2; break;
		case '*' : $sol = $x1 * $x2; break;
		case '/' : $sol = $x1 / $x2; break;

}	
	}

return (array ($sol, $x1, $op, $x2));

}
/**********************************************************/

$round_array = round_up($sol, $x1, $op, $x2);

echo "after for loop: $round_array[1] $round_array[2] $round_array[3] = and sol: $round_array[0] <br /><br />";

}

If the solution of the equation is not a round number, and if the first number is smaller than the other, than increase the first number until the solution is a round number.

It is a very primitive solution, but I'm learning as I go and I'll try to make it more intelligent. But to my problem, the above script outputs following values:

first calc: 3 / 5 = ? 

first sol: 0.6 

after for loop: 6 / 5 = and sol: 1 

The script will increase the first number about 1 digit more, and that is exactly my problem, since that way the equation makes no sense.

The condition of the for loop is, increase $x1 till $sol is SHORTLY before the next rounded number, when it is has reached the next rounded number STOP.

Thus $x1 should be 5 in the above example, because 5/5 = 1.

IT seems that after $sol has reached the next round number, the for loop will go one more time over the variables, and THEN it will stop.

How can I solve this problem?

You defintely need to take a different approach - that is going to be a headache.