assigning php variable value to form element value not working

izzus

Hello Everyone,

I am new to forum and could use some help with some php code that isn't working.  I am very new to php/html/javascript and all of what I have learned, I learned from forums like this one so first....thank you!

I am trying to assign a value from a php variable to the value of my form element.  I'm sure there must be a way to do this but I can't seem to get the syntax right.  here is my code...

first I set the value of $loginname elsewhere in the script like so...

<?php

$loginname =strtolower(htmlspecialchars(strip_tags($_GET["loginname"])));

?>

This part works fine..

Then I try to set the value of my hidden text field inside the form to the value of $loginname to be passed to a javascript program.  Everything works except that the value passed ends up being <?echo and not the expected user name inside of $loginname.

<?php

echo '<form name ="currentactivity" Id="currentactivity" action="<?php'.htmlspecialchars($_SERVER['PHP_SELF']).'?>"      method="post">';

echo '<fieldset><legend><b>Your Current Activity Information</b></legend>';

echo '<input type="text" name="loginnm"  style="visibility: hidden" value="<?php echo $loginname;?>">';

echo "<label for='myactivities'>Activity Name:</label>";

echo "<select name='myactivities' Id='myactivities' onchange=\"showdetails(this.form)\" value=''>";

echo "<option value = 'Select an activity'>Select an activity</option>";

for ($i = 1; $i <=$rowcount; $i++) {

echo"<option value=$row[activity_name]>$row[activity_name] </option>";

$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);

}

echo "</select>";

echo '</fieldset>';

echo '</form>';

?>

Please note..the rest of the code is working perfectly, it is just this one value I can't seem to get.

Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated.