Using PHP to make my website dynamic

doubledee

Hello everyone.  This is my first post, so be nice!

I am building a website that will have a lot of content, similar to a newspaper.  I have some pretty good HTML/CSS pages written, but the problem is that I need a way to make things more dynamic.

One of my templates has a Header, Left Column, Middle Column, Right Column, and Footer.  Everything stays the same from page to page except for the Middle Column (which holds each article).

As it stands now, if I had 12 articles, I would have to have 12 nearly duplicate HTML pages which isn't good!

I started studying PHP a while ago, but put that on hold to learn HTML/CSS, so I've kinda forgotten how PHP can help me out!  :-\

Can someone help me figure out how to use PHP to my benefit?

Thanks,

Debbie

You are looking for the "include"-function in PHP.

By making a .php file for all of the columns (except from the content) you can easily include the columns into all of the different pages.

This will save you a lot of time editing, since you only have to edit ONE file instead of TWELVE.

Example for index.php:

include('page_header.php');   // THIS INCLUDES THE HEADER
include('page_column_left.php');  // THIS INCLUDES THE LEFT COLUMN

// HERE YOU CAN WRITE THE CONTENT OF THE CURRENT PAGE (UNIQUE ON EACH DIFFERENT PAGE)

include('page_column_right.php');  // THIS INCLUDES THE RIGHT COLUMN
include('page_footer.php');    // THIS INCLUDES THE FOOTER

Redo this for all of your pages basically, and you have saved some odd hours of updating.

Note: Use a database instead if you know how to use one. Faster, easier and more convenient.

Good luck!

You are looking for the "include"-function in PHP.

Yes, I remember those.

By making a .php file for all of the columns (except from the content) you can easily include the columns into all of the different pages.

I don't have to break things up that much, do I?