I am new to PHP and trying to debug some old code. How am I to reade the follow

jayhawker

I am new to PHP and trying to debug some old code.  How am I to read the following:

$properties = $GLOBALS['Props'];

I am guesisin that it is saying:

Create a string variable named $porperties and set it equal to the Global variable of 'Props'.

But I assume my interpretation is wrong since I get some weird results.

Well, $GLOBALS is an array (that I assume is user defined).

You're correct in your theory that the variable $properties is assigned a value, but that value is actually a value from an array.

I'm assuming that you know what an array is. If not, then you have some reading to do.

Basically, $GLOBALS['Props'] would retrieve the value from the array associated with the key Props.

Well, $GLOBALS is an array (that I assume is user defined).

You're correct in your theory that the variable $properties is assigned a value, but that value is actually a value from an array.

I'm assuming that you know what an array is. If not, then you have some reading to do.

Basically, $GLOBALS['Props'] would retrieve the value from the array associated with the key Props.

$GLOBALS is a PHP created super global array that contains all global variables.

Actually, $GLOBALS is a predefined array that references all variables in global scope.  The manual provides more information on it. But basically, if you define a variable (in global scope) you can get to it through this array.

$myVar = "This is a globally defined variable";

echo $GLOBALS['myVar']; // will output: This is a globally defined variable

Actually, $GLOBALS is a predefined array that references all variables in global scope.  The manual provides more information on it. But basically, if you define a variable (in global scope) you can get to it through this array.

$myVar = "This is a globally defined variable";

echo $GLOBALS['myVar']; // will output: This is a globally defined variable