How to track user going to different pages through the browser

hannan

Hello friends,

I am new to PHP and have developed a website... i am stuck at one place. I want to know if the user changes the url in the adress bar and goes to another webpage.. Can we detect that?

This is very important for my website because I calsulate the duration of login based on whether user goes to another page or logs out.

No you can't detect if someone changes the url.

What you can do is utilize ajax to make periodic updates to a script on your site, which you can use as an "activity" monitor.

Very few people actually logout of a website -- they just navigate away or close the browser.  You should not depend on a logout.

No you can't detect if someone changes the url.

What you can do is utilize ajax to make periodic updates to a script on your site, which you can use as an "activity" monitor.

Very few people actually logout of a website -- they just navigate away or close the browser.  You should not depend on a logout.

well if you're gonna go with ajax, you could just go with an onbeforeunload event... but I don't know the browser support of that event.

RusselReal,

Those are not the same things at all.  A timed ajax call can update status every 30 seconds or minute or 5 minutes.  That technique is frequently used to support html/near realtime chat pages.

yes I know what AJAX is, but AJAX is simply Javascript with use of XML Streams... I have used the same general idea on one of my sites as what you have mentioned, but I stuck to the Original Poster's guidelines with my answer.. I wasn't bashing your answer. He wanted to know when the user changed URLs, yes ofcourse you can't actually GET the new URL, but you can use this to know when the user:

A. CLOSES THE BROWSER

B. NAVIGATES AWAY FROM THE CURRENT PAGE.