SQL Injection issue

KellyJ

Hello,

I have a video game site - mostly vBulletin which is fine but there are a few extra bits to the site that I have done myself.

I'm pretty new to PHP so my code isn't great.

Anyway, I wanted to test my code for SQL Injection but I looked on Google and most of the tools seemed to come from hacker sites etc which I'm not downloading.

I eventually found an addon for Firefox called SQL Inject Me and ran that. It said everything was alright but when I checked my MySQL tables they were full of junk code it had inserted.

One of my pages doesn't even have any visible fields. It's just a page with a voting submit button and some hidden fields so how does it inject the code into the tables?

The insert page code is:

$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "username", "password");

mysql_select_db("thedatabase",$db);
$ipaddress = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['ipaddress']);
$theid = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['theid']);
$gamert = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['gamert']);
$serveron = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['serveron']);

$check= mysql_query("select * from voting2 where ipaddress='$ipaddress'");

$ipname = mysql_fetch_assoc($check);

if($ipname['ipaddress'] == $ipaddress) {
                     echo 'It appears you have already voted. Click <a href="vote.php">here</a> to return to the votes.';

} else {
mysql_query ("INSERT INTO voting2 (theid,ipaddress,gamert,serveron2) 
                VALUES
('$theid','$ipaddress','$gamert','$serveron')");
echo 'Your vote has been added. Click <a href="vote.php">here</a> to view the updated totals.';

}

How can I make it safer against SQL injection?

Thanks

Hidden fields are only 'hidden' in that they don't appear on screen.  They're still visible in your source code.  Also, mysql_real_escape_string is only part of the battle.  You still need to validate incoming data.

So what's the best way to do this?