Making options available change based on what is selected from dropdown box

johnmk

I'm new to this form and php/mysql so sorry if this isn't the right place to post this.

This is what is in the first dropdown box.

$selValues['john'] = "a, b, c, d, e";

These are the different lists I want it to put in the second drop down box depending on what they choose in the first.

$selValues['list1']= " a1, a2, a3, a4, a5";
$selValues['list2']= " b1, b2, b3, b4, b5";

This is how I made an attempt to make it work before posting here. Along with plently of other ways.

if ($selValues['john']=a)
{
     $chan_input = selectBuilder($selValues['$list1'] };
else if ($selValues['john']=b)
{
     $chan_input = selectBuilder($selValues['$list2'] };

Basicly how I need it to work is there are two drop down boxes. First they will chose between a,b,c,d,e. If they chose a then on the second drop down box I only want them to be able to select a1,a2,a3,a4,a5.

I did try that before but didn't get the right results.

But before I go on this is what you wanted me to change, correct?

if ($selValues['john']=a)
{
     $chan_input == selectBuilder($selValues['$list1'] };
else if ($selValues['john']=b)
{
     $chan_input == selectBuilder($selValues['$list2'] };

or

if ($selValues['john']==a)
{
     $chan_input = selectBuilder($selValues['$list1'] };
else if ($selValues['john']==b)
{
     $chan_input = selectBuilder($selValues['$list2'] };

What happens when I try that is it will always pull the list for a, since it's the first one in the code. If I swap around a and b then it always displays b since it's first.

The reason is (at least I think why) is that 

$selValues['john']= "a, b, c, d, e"; 

just puts all of them in there as if they were together, not seperate.

So it will always be the first one I put in the list, as it will always be true.

As I said before, i'm new to this. I understand what you are asking but not sure how to answer based on the knowledge I have right now.